We act against our well being


Listening to a “This American Life” episode this morning, focusing on global warming. This addresses two of my favorite interests: humility and denial.

I was seven when I began to grasp some of the issues that have always concerned that small band of unhappy few who actually care to use more than 5% of their on-board computers; issues such as suffering, war, disease and as of the last 50 years, global warming.

For now, I’ll just cut to the chase. My father relentlessly abused my mother and me from the time I was six, and almost always behind closed doors. It was probably a lot earlier than that for Mom, but that’s when it started for me. Bottom line is that it was some combination of sociopathy, PTSD brought on by childhood and adult trauma, OCD and male Jewish anger. I only saw a relatively normal father in the last two years of his life. At that time he was put on a daily dose of an antipsychotic starting the very first day that he was admitted to a nursing home.

My point is that David (Dad) was convinced that my mother and I were deficient in various ways that necessitated regular exposures to his dictates and wisdom. He even went so far as to take us together to a venerable psychiatrist ( as I recall, a classic Viennese old-school Freudian) to get an evaluation of us two. We only went once and D made it clear that it was we two who were to be scrutinized, not him.

I won’t have time to finish this this morning so I will tie this all together this weekend, inchallah, but for now my point is that, in general, pride and denial rule human affairs, and now they rule our global environment. Most of us never seem to be able to make the tiny mental leap from witnessing the sheer craziness all around us to understanding that we can all easily fall prey to the illusion that everyone else may be fallible but we ourselves are the soul of sanity and realistic thinking.

(To be continued)

Author: quickdrawartist

Entrepreneur, artist, dancer. More about me at http://about.me/frankpoliat, http://quickdrawartist.com

3 thoughts on “We act against our well being”

  1. I think that everything posted was actually very logical.
    However, what about this? suppose you wrote a catchier post title?

    I am not suggesting your content is not solid, but suppose
    you added a post title to possibly get people’s attention? I mean We act against our well being | Thank god I’m an
    atheist. is kinda vanilla. You ought to glance at Yahoo’s home page and note how they create news titles to grab viewers interested. You might add a related video or a related pic or two to grab people excited about everything’ve written.
    In my opinion, it could bring your blog a little bit more interesting.

    1. >I think that everything posted was actually very logical.
      However, what about this? suppose you wrote a catchier post title?

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. I appreciate it.

      I’ll work on it, but if you have any specific suggestions for post titles, I can always repost something with a new title. Gimme some ideas 🙂

      >I am not suggesting your content is not solid, but suppose you added a post title to possibly get people’s attention? I mean We act against our well being | Thank god I’m an atheist. is kinda vanilla.

      Sounds good, gimme an alt. I believe that using specific keywords in both title and content are relevant in terms of being found. Ford, knows, I’m not being found, though occasional posts do seem to get a lot of attention, but maybe not attention from the demographic that I aspire to :)…(No, this is not a barb at you 🙂 )

      > You ought to glance at Yahoo’s home page and note how they create news titles to grab viewers interested. You might add a related video or a related pic or two to grab people excited about everything’ve written.
      In my opinion, it could bring your blog a little bit more interesting.

      Yeah, I’m thinking of creating more youtube commentary posts and linking them up to this blog….

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.